The Group of Seven in Western Canada

The Group of Seven in Western Canada

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For more than 80 years, The Group of Seven has been Canada's best-known art collective. Founded in 1920, the Group--Franklin Carmichael, Lawren S. Harris, A.Y. Jackson, Frank H. Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J.E.H. MacDonald, Frederick H. Varley, A.J. Casson, Edwin Holgate, and Lionel LeMoine Fitzgerald-was recognized for their strikingly bold, modernist and colourful images of the Canadian landscape. In creating their art, the Group also contributed greatly to Canada's emerging sense of identity. In their inaugural exhibition catalogue, the Group poignantly wrote: 'An art must grow and flower in the land before the country will be a real home for its people.' In The Group of Seven in Western Canada , Catharine Mastin, curator of the Glenbow exhibition, along with five other Canadian scholars and curators explore the inspiration and influence of the west on both the Group's artwork and their sense of national identity. The book focuses on the significant themes and works produced by the Group from artistic, political, geographical, social and cultural perspectives in order to create the first, and most comprehensive, study of the Group's western muse. With 130 images and photographs to accompany the fascinating and insightful text, The Group of Seven in Western Canada is a unique and outstanding contribution to the history and legacy of Canadian art. The Glenbow Museum is a world-class multi-disciplinary institution that includes a permanent art collection, western Canada's largest museum, Canada's largest non-government archives, and an unparalleled western Canada reference library. Located in Calgary, it is world-renowned for its innovative programming and exhibitions.
Publisher: Toronto, ON : Key Porter Books in association with the Glenbow Museum, c2002
ISBN: 9781552634394
Branch Call Number: 759.11 Group-G 3558
Characteristics: 208 p. :,ill. (chiefly col.) ;,27 x 27 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Mar 09, 2018

In their glory days - The much-celebrated "Group of Seven" consisted of 7 Canadian landscape painters who formed an artistic alliance amongst themselves which prevailed (at its peak) in the years from 1920-1933.

While each member of the group developed their own diverse painting techniques (as individual artists) - These 7 men were the ones who initiated the first major Canadian national arts movement.

The original members of the "Group of Seven" were Franklin Carmichael, A.Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J.H. MacDonald, and Lawren Harris (who outlived all the other members and died in 1970).

Major collections of these men's work can be found in both the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto and the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa.

Through stills and text - This excellent volume gives you a very good overview of all of the Group of Seven's artistic output as it existed in their heyday.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at WPPL

To Top