My Year of Meats

My Year of Meats

Book - 1999
Average Rating:
7
2
Rate this:
A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love--the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki's mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as "rare and provocative" and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair's The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.
Publisher: New York ; Toronto : Penguin Books, 1999
ISBN: 9780140280463
0140280464
Branch Call Number: FIC Ozeki 3558
Characteristics: 366, 16 p. ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
bjl06e
Mar 10, 2016

Might make you go vegetarian.

Fascinating yet a bit disturbing investigation on the cultural implications of meat interwoven with ideals of gender identity. I couldn't put it down but you might want to reconsider reading over a hamburger lunch break (or at least be sure of where the beef came from).

Wendy McLeod

mjkedzior Oct 14, 2013

I never would have picked up this book without a recommendation. It was wonderful, funny and thought provoking. Now I will keep a look out for this author.

WVMLBookClubTitles Jun 17, 2013

Jane Takagi-Little is a starving documentary filmmaker who finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show promoting BEEFEX (US beef export agency). She takes her crew on the road in search of all-American wives cooking all-American meat, and to her surprise finds that this assignment raises questions not just about her own life, but also about sex, love and fertility. Aikiko is a Tokyo housewife who each week has to cook the “Meat of the Week” from the latest episode of the TV program My American Wife! for her husband, an advertising executive working with BEEFEX. Ozeki brings these two worlds together, tackling questions concerning the beef industry, cultural differences, gender roles and sexual exploitation. You will laugh and later cringe reading this novel whether you are a vegetarian or just looking for a fantastic, funny and thoughtful read.

LProfeta Aug 22, 2012

Looking for a president of female gender, people laugh and that's when I know it's right, why drag forever, why ladies, for sure help with heart!

p
pplarel
Jun 07, 2012

I loved this book, I could barely put it down! I enjoyed the juxtaposition between the different cultures along with all the different romantic relationships. It was very humorous and also heartfelt. I'm a vegetarian and found the presentation of the meat industry in this fashion very interesting and enlightening.

t
tegan
May 25, 2009

This book opens your eyes to the issues surrounding factory farming, while engaging you through excellent characters.

Notices

Add Notices

j
jss
Jun 26, 2008

Sexual Content: This title contains Sexual Content.

j
jss
Jun 26, 2008

Violence: Domestic Violence

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top