Adagios for Organ

Adagios for Organ

Printed Music - 2007
Rate this:
Intermediate and experienced organists will prize this appealing original collection of organ works in slow tempo. Its forty-three adagios range from the Baroque era to modern times, offering a tremendous variety of pieces for public and private performance.
Highlights include works by such celebrated composers for organ as Johann Sebastian Bach ("Hark! A Voice Saith, All Are Mortal," BWV 643), Alexandre Guilmant (M#65533;ditation and Adagio, from Sonata No. 6, Op. 86 ), Louis Vierne (Pr#65533;lude Fun#65533;bre, Op. 4), and Charles-Marie Widor (Adagio from Symphonie No. 5, Op. 42-1 ). Other pieces include the popular Largo from Handel's 1738 opera, Xerxes ; Liszt's tribute to his friend, "At the Grave of Richard Wagner"; and pieces by Brahms, Couperin, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Schumann, Saint-Sa#65533;ns, and others. Editor Rollin Smith provides notes on the music, with background information on each piece.
Publisher: Mineola, N.Y. : Dover Publications, 2007
ISBN: 9780486457345
Branch Call Number: 786.5 Ada 3558ad 1
Characteristics: viii, 120 p. of music
Additional Contributors: Smith, Rollin


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at WPPL

To Top