The Long Way Home

The Long Way Home

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
" The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller."--Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart. When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she's more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property. But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire's old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo's caretaker and trusted confidant. Though Claire distrusts Jonas's motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo's house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive. The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2010
Edition: 1st U.S. ed. --
ISBN: 9780312354350
0312354355
Branch Call Number: FIC Pilch 6939
Characteristics: 294 p
Additional Contributors: Pilcher, Robin

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lgraf
Feb 01, 2017

I really enjoyed reading this book. It had a good plot & interesting characters. I chose this author because he is the son of Rosamunde Pilcher, author of The Shell Seekers & other wonderful books. Robin writes just like his dear Mum.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top