Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton's haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders--a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth--as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHICAGO REVIEW OF BOOKS * COLSON WHITEHEAD'S FAVORITE BOOK OF 2016 ( Esquire )

Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the Arctic, news of a catastrophic event arrives. The scientists are forced to evacuate, but Augustine stubbornly refuses to abandon his work. Shortly after the others have gone, Augustine discovers a mysterious child, Iris, and realizes that the airwaves have gone silent. They are alone.

At the same time, Mission Specialist Sullivan is aboard the Aether on its return flight from Jupiter. The astronauts are the first human beings to delve this deep into space, and Sully has made peace with the sacrifices required of her: a daughter left behind, a marriage ended. So far the journey has been a success. But when Mission Control falls inexplicably silent, Sully and her crewmates are forced to wonder if they will ever get home.

As Augustine and Sully each face an uncertain future against forbidding yet beautiful landscapes, their stories gradually intertwine in a profound and unexpected conclusion. In crystalline prose, Good Morning, Midnight poses the most important questions: What endures at the end of the world? How do we make sense of our lives? Lily Brooks-Dalton's captivating debut is a meditation on the power of love and the bravery of the human heart.

Praise for Good Morning, Midnight

"Stunningly gorgeous . . . The book contemplates the biggest questions--What is left at the end of the world? What is the impact of a life's work?" -- Portland Mercury

"A beautifully written, sparse post-apocalyptic novel that explores memory, loss and identity . . . Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships in extreme environments." -- The Washington Post

"Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact."-- Publishers Weekly

"Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation. . . . Brooks-Dalton's heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone."-- Booklist

" Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it's the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart." --Colson Whitehead

"With imagination, empathy, and insight into unchanged and unchangeable human nature, Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut." --Yiyun Li

"A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human . . . Good Morning, Midnight is a fascinating story, surprising and inspiring at every turn." --Keith Scribner
Publisher: New York :, Random House,, [2016]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ♭2016
ISBN: 9780812998894
0812998898
Characteristics: 256 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Reads_A_Lot
Dec 22, 2016

This was a beautifully written book that really conveyed the loneliness and isolation of the characters. Unfortunately, it left me feeling dissatisfied. What kept me going was waiting for Augie and Sully to make contact. I thought he would be instrumental in bringing the astronauts home. Nope. Just an abrupt ending. No explanation, no revelation between Augie and Sully, no closure. Made me feel like the whole thing was pointless and a waste of time. Can't recommend this one.

b
BWilsoned
Nov 30, 2016

A captivating read and took me out of my rainy, gray world. Augustine is stranded by choice at the top of the world while astronaut Sullivan is stranded with crewmates on a spacecraft. Both are cut off from the rest of the world--something has happened, but we don't know what. This story is a wonderful meditation on love, loneliness, and humanity.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top