The Graces

The Graces

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious new girl into their fold, they unwittingly nurture a powerful black magic that could destroy them all. This paranormal YA fantasy features intrigue, spells, and a devastating twist. In The Graces , the first rule of witchcraft states that if you want something badly enough, you can get it . . . no matter who has to pay.

Everyone loves the Graces. Fenrin, Thalia, and Summer Grace are captivating, wealthy, and glamorous. They've managed to cast a spell over not just their high school but also their entire town--and they're rumored to have powerful connections all over the world. If you're not in love with one of them, you want to be them. Especially River: the loner, new girl at school. She's different from her peers, who both revere and fear the Grace family. She wants to be a Grace more than anything. But what the Graces don't know is that River's presence in town is no accident.

This fabulously addictive fantasy combines sophisticated and haunting prose with a gut-punching twist that readers will be dying to discuss. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars as well as nostalgic classics like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the 1996 movie The Craft , The Graces marks the beginning of a new wave of teen witches.
Publisher: New York :, Amulet Books,, 2016
Copyright Date: ♭2016
ISBN: 9781419721236
1419721232
Characteristics: 339 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 28, 2018

What can I say about The Graces… except that it is one of my favourite books to date! It follows the story of young River, who has just moved to a new town. Of course, as it always goes, she is a loner compared to the other girls who surround themselves around the Graces. The Graces are a group of speculated witches, and people are immediately and inexplicably attracted to them, including River. She is especially attracted to Fenrin, but so are all the other girls. It’s rare that one of the Graces accepts someone else outside of their family to hang out with them, but for some reason they do choose River. She hangs out with the Graces for a long time, and they even become good friends. But eventually (spoilers ahead), a boy that their family is very close to dies, and it’s River’s fault. They now shut her out, and she can’t continue seeing them. They even move away… but they return. What’s in store for River, and are they truly witches? @thesoundofcolours of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

h
heavenne
Jan 31, 2018

There wasn’t a substantial plot with this one. You had an idea on why River was trying to be friends with The Graces and there were hints here and there throughout the story on what River was really wanting to do all this time. You’re pretty much following River as she makes friends and tries to be part of the in crowd with The Graces.

I didn’t really like River that much in the beginning. You knew why she was wanting to befriend them however at the same time she had a great friendship with Summer and you were hoping nothing would spoil it.

The Graces did have a certain charm to them but at the same time there was also something strange. They’re close knit, secretive, and not your average family. They already had their secrets to start with, and of all the three I’d have to like Summer the most. She was the outspoken one and the rule breaker with at least some semblance of sense and logic that her two siblings didn’t have (those that have read the book would know what I’m talking about).

Back to River. Oh darling. You know this could have gone well if you HAD JUST TOLD THEM. Sometimes I hate reading books where the protagonist has this huge secret because they tend to keep it to themselves until they finally realize it wouldn’t help anymore but by that time, it would mess up a lot of things now would it? And all throughout the book you’re screaming JUST. TELL. THEM. Sheesh.

Although I know I said I didn’t really like her in the beginning, she redeemed herself in the last third of the book. I was expecting her to be sniveling, crying and pleading but she suddenly became this beacon of rage and I suddenly pulled a 180 and loved her instantly. She finally realized who she was and what she was capable of. She didn’t need the Graces at all - well maybe she needed them to put her in the right direction but it was nice to see her pick herself up and be strong about it.

Loved the ending! Such a cliffhanger and I want to know what’s going to happen next now that River has found herself. Sequel is coming out this year! So I’ll be looking forward to it!

h
HerNameHere
Aug 17, 2017

The main character is a bit too needy and willing to do anything to become a part of something... (not wanting to give away anything here in a review). Barely got through the book. I think we're supposed to cheer for "River" but that's not how I felt at the end of the book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top