The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
31
3
1
Rate this:

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York, NY :, William Morrow,, [2018]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ♭2018
ISBN: 9780062678416
0062678418
Characteristics: 427 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
janetnorm
Apr 16, 2018

After the first few chapters it was totally predictable and was hard to read to the end. I finished it but probably would not recommend it.

d
dwayne1049
Apr 12, 2018

If you can't sleep at night this is the book to read. It will keep "you" up all night.
Not much love but a lot of mystery, suspense. Will drive you nuts until you finish it and I would recommend this one to everyone!! What a "great" ending?????? Surprise!!!

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN meets REAR WINDOW. THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW is a stay-up-all-night delight and a solid psychological thriller. It’s not without some shortcomings: the main character’s dysfunction wore thin, the setting for the story’s climax was telegraphed early on, and I figured out one twist way before the secret was revealed. Despite all this, the short chapters, increasing tension and suspense held my attention to the very last page. And author A. J. Finn’s frequent references to film noir classics was an added bonus since it provided a list of movies that’ll hold fans like me until THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW hits the big screen.

AL_MANON Apr 09, 2018

This psychological thriller is a quick read, and I was pleasantly surprised by it. In spite of the unreliable narrator (which is becoming a little old), Finn still managed to create an interesting, complex story. If you like thrillers by Hitchcock, George Cukor, and other classic greats, you may enjoy this book, which intertwines dialogue from their films with the book's action scenes.

f
fledge
Apr 02, 2018

The protagonist is drunken, dissolute, debauched, depressed -- and stuck in her house with acute agoraphobia. She's the hero, and the author indulges in a bit of manipulation to make you feel sorry for her, which takes some doing. I strongly suspected, bordering on deduced, the two key mysteries of this book, plus a couple of other minor sub-mysteries. Nonetheless, the author writes artfully and the pace of the work is brisk. Not a great book, but it's soon to be a movie, so you know it’s written at a popular level. I confess I find reading suspense novels unsettling. I don't care for the internal sensation suspense builds in my gut, so I tend to avoid them. Perhaps this colors my thoughts here.

ehbooklover Apr 02, 2018

Whew! This was a twisty, crazy, page-turner of a read that kept me on the edge of my seat from the first page to the last. Loved it!

r
reader7176
Apr 01, 2018

Good Book! I really enjoyed this book and will read more by this author. Good story line with plenty of twist and turns. Did not predict the ending which was another twist.

m
M_K_F
Mar 25, 2018

Recommended by Louise Penny but not as good as any of her books. Very slow to start. I almost put it down but it was LP’s reco that kept me going. Very good in the end but the first half was endlessly bogged down with her disease and psychological paranoia.

AL_LESLEY Mar 22, 2018

This mystery thriller is very well written and all the film references are great. But despite the super quick pacing it still felt too long and unfortunately I saw everything coming. I think maybe I'm just overdosing on unreliable female narrators.

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

So many twists and turns! The short chapters and prose made it super easy to read. Perfect for thriller/suspense lovers and reluctant readers. I would love to see this book adapted into a movie.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top